Name and nickname
Gabriel Moreno

Age
38

Color
Yellow

Tool
Paper and pencil

Label
Racional optimist

Music
BeatlesJoaquin SabinaFrankz Ferdinan

Movie
Cinema Paradiso

Book
Hundred... We the Living by Ayn Rand

 

There is no life apart from Earth

June 11, 2011

Gabriel Moreno is an illustrator, engraver, and painter based in Madrid. After graduating from the University of Sevilla in fine arts in 1998, he worked in various graphic design studios and advertising agencies in Andalusia. Gabriel moved to Madrid in 2004 taking up a career in illustration. In June 2007 he was recognized as one of the top 20 talented illustrators by Computer Arts magazine.

Gabriel has worked with a wide range of advertising agencies, both in and outside of Spain. He is creating illustrations for big brands, including Nike, Coca-Cola, Marlboro, and prestigious periodicals such as the L.A. Times MagazineWall Street Journal, and Rolling Stone. In September 2010 Gabriel teamed up with Bang! Bang! Studio, who now represent him in Russia.

How would you describe yourself in five words?
Lazy and apathetic, but a passionate, hard worker when drawing.

Is there something that can upset you?
Ignorance and people's inability to stay quiet. There is a saying in Spanish along the lines of “Ignorance is very daring”.

Do you have a dream?
I don’t. It came true 4 years ago when I became an illustrator. Now I can just carry on enjoying creating things, whatever they may be, until the day I die. And I hope that day is about 200 years away.

Has art been a big part of your life since you were a kid?
As a kid I always loved drawing, but I had never thought I could make a living doing that. I remember once, when in high school, we got in trouble for drawing on the desks. They called our parents to come and see the damage. It was funny, because my mother and other parents would actually stop to look at the drawings, asking if they were mine, as they really liked them. I believe positive childhood experiences can lead to motivation later in life. It isn’t true that as you grow older, your dreams appear childish and are doomed. I’m a fortunate man to have made a career out of something that has been making me happy ever since I was little.

What is your average working day like?
Regardless of whether it is a digital or hardcopy illustration I’m doing, my working day is pretty fairly routine. I arrive at the studio, put on my headphones, turn on some music or the radio, and draw and paint non-stop. I eat in front of my computer to save time, so I can get home in time to see my children before they go to sleep. It's a very important thing in my professional life that I see my children.

Describe your process of creating a new piece.
I think of something and begin looking for references: a pose I like, some detail, a mouth, a face. And when I get a new commission I can use on photographs or, most often, my own shots due to copyright issues. I’ve always included my girlfriend, my friends, my cat. Whatever it is, I always create a composition using my computer first, and then draw it.

You do freehand drawings on paper. How much time does it take you to complete an illustration?
Three or four days, once the sketch is approved, but this varies, of course. Everyone thinks drawing by hand is very time-consuming, but quite the contrary—it would take me much longer to create an eye in Photoshop than using a pencil.

How would you describe your illustration style?
It’s based on traditional methods, yet with a modern-day focus. I always try to achieve meticulous precision and a strongly expressive look, in terms of both composition and linework.

Are your characters real or fictional?
They are all very real. I work in a realistic manner, so I can’t do without at least some reference. Nonetheless, I always perform some “plastic surgery” in the beginning to make the image better and impossible to recognize.

What inspires your creativity?
I enjoy looking at women and drawing or painting them, however superficial or profound this might seem. There are some things that have become inherent, like an image I’ve recently seen in the news, or a woman’s neck, or her mouth... I cannot reflect on this first part of my work, only on the final one. It’s that simple. Sensuality and beauty for me have synaesthetic, inherent qualities. It’s almost damaging, a kind of way to possess, make things mine in a different form.

What is the difference between an artist and an illustrator?
An illustrator is craftsman, who commissions works to eventually help sales of soft drinks or cars. An artist is someone with a higher mission of delivering a message to the world, whose work has an artistic concept behind it, and is never meant to advertise some facial treatment.

Where does the boundary lie between commercial illustration and art?
It's not easy to draw one. Perhaps 500 years later, when illustration is no longer a tool for generating sales, and only creativity and expression remain, there won't be a boundary at all.

What artists inspire you?
Egon SchieleEdward MunchHope GangloffAlex Trochut. There are thousands of them. I used to know very little about illustration when I started my career, but now I can’t imagine being ignorant, not being able to name just a few.

Are there any trends in illustration?
I think it's impossible to say today, when everything and everyone is interconnected thanks to globalization and communication technologies. The number of trends and styles is increasing exponentially, so it’s very difficult to sum up.

In what country are things going best with commercial illustration?
The US, and it has always been. It’s the centre of consumerism and capitalism, that is to say the centre of advertising, and advertising is what sustains the illustration industry. Advertising is what allows 90% of illustrators to live off our marvelous job.

How is the illustration industry doing in Spain?
It’s a good market. However, the economic crisis has hit very hard and the country is still held back by lack of funds. In the past, illustration-based outdoor advertising campaigns were very common. I hope the good times will return.

What was your first commercial work?
It was a project for the Spanish radio station RadiOlé, commissioned through a large advertising agency called Shackleton, in 2007. It coincided with my first summer in New York, when I'd only been showing my portfolio around for a month. I was already 34, a rather late age to start a career in the industry, but getting my first commission while in Manhattan really felt like touching the sky.

Who would you say is your favorite client?
I don't have one. Clients vary as much as their marketing departments. However, with big brands like Nike and Coca-Cola, the project are often, although not always, very creative and more exciting.

Could you please tell us a little bit about your Vögele Shoes project?
It was a project with a very original idea, a combination of illustration and photography. It started out well, the shots were made in Switzerland, and there seemed no reason why the project shouldn’t have turned out fine, but in this case it wasn’t a complete success. If was done properly, but it could have been much better. We had a second go at it and that time took charge of the entire production, photography and illustration — you can check out the results online. It is often a good idea to consult the illustrator about the best way to produce the project — this can solve many problems.

What kind of projects do you enjoy most?
I like projects that allow a lot of creative freedom, but also receive wide media coverage. My works are not meant for me alone, but for everyone to see.

What is your dream project? Would you like to illustrate a book/article/story/idea, etc.?
There are so many things that I'd like to see completed in my lifetime that I wouldn't know where to start. I love films — I haven’t had the chance yet, but I would certainly love to create an image of a great movie. But what would be really exciting is something I described in my answer to the previous question, like a large-scale illustration to cover the entire Times Square Building.

Why Madrid?
Just a coincidence. I met my future wife, who is from Madrid, at the beach. I was incredibly lucky to find myself living with a wonderful person in the very center of Spain’s advertising industry. At first, it took a lot of effort to adapt. Originally from Baena, a small Andalusian town, I eventually felt at home in Madrid and saw it as a good place to live. It's huge, but has nice people.

Is your limited edition popular in Europe?
If you're referring to my works, they're selling very well in Europe, and I receive requests from America too. Limited editions have emotional value—people appreciate an opportunity to possess something that only a few others in the world have. This effect is multiplied with the original, an authentic piece of art history, with some magic if you wish.

How often do people buy your original works?
So far this year I haven't been able to focus on my artistic work — advertising campaigns leave little time for this. But I've decided that it's worth the extra effort, and these new commissioned pieces I'm currently working on, and the ones I've done at the beginning of the year are going well, and I've already sold as many as during the last year.

Do you consider your latest exhibition in France a success?
It was scheduled to start just a few days before my daughter Carmela was born. I couldn’t attend the opening, but Caroline, the owner of the gallery, shared her nice sentiments with me, saying it was a success and that the people had really appreciated my works. Many pieces were sold too, so I have good reasons to believe her.

What kind of audience would you like to see at your exhibition?
I’d be glad to see all kinds of people, those with creative background and approach, as well as someone who doesn't have a deep understanding but feels moved by what I do. And anyone who wouldn’t know how to give me a good critique is also most welcome.

What’s your image of Russia?
A very cold country with warm-hearted people that has seen great changes over recent years. It must have a great pool of creativity and ideas ready to explode. I think of Russia as a land of many contrasts.

What celebrities or public figures would like to meet over a cup of coffee?
I could name many. Al Pacino, Obama, Sarah Palin...

Do you believe there’s life on Mars?
Yes, Sarah Palin. It's unlikely that Mars is inhabited, but it would be unreasonable to think none of the planets are.

What piece of advice would you give to a beginning illustrator?
Don’t believe those who say that it’s hard to make a living doing illustration. It may well be their case, but it doesn’t have to be yours. Always think big and make sure to be self-critical, otherwise there’s nothing in it for you.

Would you quit if you were offered a hundred million dollars?
No, I'd rather earn that much by creating something. It would be much more fun.

Gabriel Moreno's portfolio

Имя и nickname
Габриель Морено

Возраст
38

Цвет
Желтый

Инструмент
Бумага и карандаш

Марка одежды
Racional optimist

Музыка
BeatlesJoaquin SabinaFrankz Ferdinan

Кино
Cinema Paradiso

Книга
Сотни... We the Living Эйн Ранд

 

Кроме Земли жизни нет нигде

11 июня 2011

Габриель Морено — иллюстратор и мастер гравюры из Мадрида. Завершив обучение на факультете изобразительных искусств в университете Севильи в 1998 году, работал в дизайн-студиях и рекламных агентствах в разных частях Андалузии. В июне 2007 года лондонский журнал Computer Arts признал его одним из двадцати самых талантливых иллюстраторов. Так началась его карьера в иллюстрации.

Габриель сотрудничает с огромным количеством агентств в Испании и за ее пределами. Он рисует для таких компаний, как Nike, Coca Cola, Marlboro, и для множества изданий, среди которых L.A. Times MagazineWall Street Journal и Rolling Stone. С сентября 2010 года в России Габриеэля представляет Студия Bang! Bang!.

Как бы ты описал себя в пяти словах?
Ленивый, флегматичный, но очень трудолюбивый и необузданный, когда рисую.

Что может тебя расстроить?
Невежество и неспособность промолчать. Есть такая испанская поговорка: «Невежды слишком дерзки».

У тебя есть мечта?
Уже нет — она сбылась 4 года назад, когда я стал работать иллюстратором. Теперь я могу просто продолжать рисовать до последнего дня своей жизни. Надеюсь, он наступит лет через двести.

Искусство интересовало тебя с детства?
Когда был маленьким, любил рисовать, но никогда не думал, что это может стать моей профессией. Помню, однажды в старших классах наших родителей вызвали в школу, чтобы показать им, как мы испортили парты. Забавно, но моя мама и другие родители рассматривали картинки и спрашивали, я ли их нарисовал — рисунки им очень понравились. То, что ты переживаешь в детстве, очень мотивирует в дальнейшем. Я не верю, что все детские мечты со временем теряют свою силу. Мне повезло — я занимаюсь тем, что с самого детства делало меня счастливым.

Как проходит твой рабочий день?
В зависимости от проекта я работаю в разных техниках: работаю за компьютером или рисую на бумаге, — но в целом мои трудовые будни проходят одинаково: я приезжаю в студию, надеваю наушники и под музыку или звуки радио безостановочно рисую. Обедаю, не отрываясь от компьютера, чтобы сэкономить время и успеть вернуться домой к детям, пока они не легли спать. Для моей работы очень важно общение с детьми.

Опиши процесс создания иллюстрации.
Рождается задумка, и я начинаю искать подходящие образцы: позу, которая мне нравится, детали, лицо. Использую фотографии, чаще всего собственные снимки, чтобы не связываться с авторскими правами. Всегда использовал портреты своей девушки, друзей, кота. Что бы это ни было, всегда сначала составляю композицию на компьютере, а затем рисую.

Ты ведь рисуешь на бумаге. Сколько времени уходит на одну иллюстрацию?
Три или четыре дня, если работать по утвержденному наброску, хотя это, конечно, очень приблизительно. Все думают, что рисовать руками намного дольше, а на самом деле все наоборот — на отрисовку, например, глаза в «Фотошопе» у меня уйдет гораздо больше времени, чем на рисунок карандашом.

Как бы ты описал свой стиль?
Мой стиль основан на традиционных методах, но имеет современную направленность. Я очень придирчив и внимателен к деталям и всегда стремлюсь добиться максимальной выразительности и в композиции, и в рисунке.

Персонажи на твоих иллюстрациях реальные или вымышленные?
Это самые настоящие люди. Я работаю в реалистичной манере и не могу обойтись без прототипов. Но в самом начале работы я всегда произвожу несколько «пластических операций», чтобы иллюстрация стала лучше, а лица нельзя было узнать.

В чем ты видишь разницу между художником и иллюстратором?
Иллюстратор — это ремесленник, который работает, чтобы в итоге продалась бутылка колы или машина. Перед художником же стоит задача другого порядка — донести послание. Художник создает произведение, в котором есть идея, а не картинку для рекламы крема для лица.

Где проходит граница между коммерческой иллюстрацией и искусством?
Сложно сказать. Возможно спустя 500 лет, когда иллюстрация перестанет быть инструментом продаж, останутся только творческая составляющая и выразительная форма и граница исчезнет.

Какие художники тебя вдохновляют?
Эгон ШилеЭдвард МункХоуп ГанглоффАлекс Трочат и тысячи других. Когда я начинал, я мало знал об истории иллюстрации. Теперь я не представляю, как можно не знать хотя бы несколько имен.

Есть ли сейчас в иллюстрации какая-то мода?
Думаю, что дать ответ на это вопрос невозможно. В наши дни глобализацией и коммуникации связали весь мир воедино. Количество модных направлений и стилей растет по экспоненте, и обобщить этот процесс очень сложно.

В какой стране сейчас лучше всего обстоят дела с иллюстрацией?
В США, и так было всегда. Это центр капитализма и потребительской культуры — центр рекламы, а именно рекламная индустрия создает спрос на иллюстрацию. Реклама позволяет девяноста процентам из нас, иллюстраторов, зарабатывать на жизнь столь прекрасным и любимым делом.

А как обстоят дела с рынком иллюстрации в Испании?
Это неплохой рынок, однако в стране продолжается экономический кризис и денег на проекты не хватает. Раньше рекламные кампании с использованием иллюстраций были популярны. Надеюсь, что добрые времена всё же вернутся.

Расскажи про свою первую коммерческую работу.
Свою первую коммерческую работу я создал в 2007 году для испанской радиостанции RadiOlé, в сотрудничестве с крупным испанским рекламным агентством Shackleton. По времени эта работа совпала с моим первым летом в Нью-Йорке, когда прошел всего лишь месяц как я начал распространять своё портфолио. Мне было уже 34 года (слишком много для начала карьеры в этой индустрии), но получив первый заказ, находясь на Манхеттене, я чувствовал себе так, будто коснулся неба.

У тебя есть любимый клиент?
Нет. Клиенты бывают очень разные, то же относится и к их маркетингу. Но такие крупные заказчики как Nike, Coca-Cola, чаще других, хотя и не всегда, делают очень интересные проекты.

Какие проекты тебя нравятся больше всего?
Люблю проекты, минимально ограничивающие творческую свободу. А также те, которые получают широкое освещение в СМИ. Я ведь работаю не для себя, а для того, чтобы мои работы увидели.

Есть проект, о котором ты мечтаешь? Проиллюстрировать, например, книгу, статью, рассказ или идею?
В моей жизни столько вещей, которые я бы хотел увидеть завершенными, что я даже не знаю, с чего начать. Я люблю фильмы — вот, пожалуй, нарисовать для какого-нибудь хорошего фильма я бы хотел. Такого я еще не делал. На самом деле я бы очень хотел поработать над таким проектом, как я описал, отвечая на предыдущий вопрос. Например, создать иллюстрацию, которая заняла бы целый фасад здания на Таймз Сквер.

Что привело тебя в Мадрид?
Счастливая случайность. Я познакомился со своей женой на пляже, она из Мадрида. Так я переехал в центр рекламной промышленности Испании. Привыкнуть было непросто, ведь я приехал из маленького Андалузского городка Баена. Но через какое-то время я почувствовал себя в Мадриде как дома и понял, что это отличное место для жизни. Это огромный город, но он полон хороших людей.

Напечатанные ограниченным тиражом работы популярны в Европе?
Если вы имеете в виду мои старые работы, они действительно хорошо продаются в Европе. Кроме того, меня часто просят отправить что-то в Америку. Ценность ограниченного издания заключается в возможности обладать чем-то, что есть всего у нескольких людей в мире. Еще притягательней оригинал — ведь в этой работе заложена история, даже некая магия.

Как ты считаешь, была ли твоя последняя выставка во Франции успешной?
Выставка открылась всего за несколько дней до рождения моей дочери, поэтому у меня не получилось присутствовать на открытии. Каролин, владелица галереи передала мне, что все прошло очень хорошо и посетителям действительно понравились работы. Многие из них были успешно проданы, поэтому я верю, что выставку можно считать успешной.

Каких посетителей ты бы хотел видеть на выставке?
Абсолютно любых. Творческих личностей и людей, которым просто нравится мои работы. Так же буду рад видеть тех, кому еще не удалось дать моим работам критическую оценку.

Как ты представляешь себе Россию?
В моем представлении это очень холодная страна с душевными людьми, которая пережила великие перемены в последние годы. Страна, бурлящая творческими идеями, которые вот-вот выплеснутся. Страна великих контрастов.

С кем из известных личностей ты бы хотел выпить чашечку кофе?
Со многими: с Алем Пачино, Обамой, Сарой Пэлин...

Есть ли жизнь на Марсе?
Да, там живёт Сара Пэлин. Мне кажется, на Марсе вряд ли, но глупо полагать, что кроме Земли жизни больше нет нигде.

Что бы ты посоветовал начинающим иллюстраторам?
Не верьте тем, кто говорит, что одной иллюстрацией прожить невозможно — это может быть их случай, но не обязательно ваш. Всегда мыслите широко, и будьте самокритичны, иначе ничего не выйдет.

Ты бы перестал рисовать за сто миллионов долларов?
Нет, я бы лучше нарисовал что-то за эти деньги. Так было бы гораздо интересней.

Портфолио Габриеля Морено.