Pictures to laugh

Anastasia Selezneva, December 11, 2016

Pictures combined with small texts that tell the viewer some story have been known since the 16th century. Handmade dawings on religious topic were popular with the common people in Spain, and later, in the 19th century, factories started producing comics in the form we can see them now. Anyone can become the main character of the comics, from ninja turtles to Yury Gagarin. The golden age of the genre is far behind, but the funny pictures on the Internet on different topics like “Your life before and after you get a cat” or “What girls do when they’re alone” are something we come across every day. That is to say, the genre has granted immortality in the digital form. But when did the fun begin?

Rudolph Toppfer is known as the author of the first cartoon strips in Europe in the 1830s. Being a school teacher, he made funny situational pictures to entertain his friends and students. Those pictures later were printed as a book, which has been republished up to nowadays. Among other things, Rudolph is known for his remark that children are often brighter and more expressive at art than professional artists whose skills and techniques are controlled by what they’d been taught at the university, which was a remarkable point of view for the time when neither children, nor women were considered to be of much importance.

 

Wilhelm Busch was another illustrator and humorist associated with the fist comics. He made fun of his narrow-minded and hypocritical contemporaries in his series of drawings. Some of his works were even banned by the authorities, but later a special poetry award was established and named after the German artist. And there is also a museum of comic art in Hannover, which was formed and run to maintain Busch’s legacy in 1937.

His comic texts were translated into many languages and loved by lots of people worldwide.

 

 

In late 19th century comic art became a favorite genre of the press in the US. Winzor McCay was one of the best-known American cartoonists, whose work influenced generations of comic artists. Winzor wasn’t considered to be very good at funny dialogues, yet he was brilliant at perspective drawings. People loved his pictures, and that’s what we feel for his pictures, too. By the 20th century comic strips had become more adventurous than humorous. The genre was so popular that in Italy editors used to give characters Italian names in order to publish comics at newspapers (during the second World War foreign comics were banned in the country).

 

The epoque of superheroes started with Superman in 1938. There were golden, silver and bronze ages of comic art. Superman, Batman, Captain America are warhorses of the genre born in the 1940s. In the 1960s the Marvel company created its characters, and we still keep up with their adventures at the cinema. The bronze era of comics started with the death of Spiderman’s girlfriend in 1973. From this time forth superheroes have become more human-like, having the same doubts and sorrows. And since

 

A modern period in the development of the genre started in the mid 1980s with darksome stories, antiheroes and manga comics. Manga appeared in Japan soon after the Second World War, but it didn’t become popular worldwide straight away. So, the webcomics we all enjoy reading now have quite a long history.

And what is so special about these stories? Why do we click to read them again and again? Maybe that happens because they tackle important problems and make us look at them from another angle. A modern superhero is a person who manages to combine working with studying, housekeeping, working out, having a hobby and a relationship. That is to say, almost everyone. That’s why Superpeople are no more the characters of current interest. And a gothic Nemi or a philosopher cat from Oleg Ti’s book are more interesting to the people of today that any mighty guy. We giggle at introverts, young parents and single girls’ lives.

In other words, we laugh at ourselves. And share the pictures that can express our feelings better than any words. That is to say, we’ve got back to what it all started with, ironic comic pics on some burning issues.

Над чем смеемся

Анастасия Селезнева, 11 декабря 2016

Рисунки с текстом, разворачивающие какой-то сюжет, известны уже с 16 века. В Испании того времени рассказы в картинках на религиозную тематику пользуются популярностью у простого народа, а в 19 веке их производство берут на себя фабрики, и комикс получает свою современную форму. Героем может стать каждый, от черепашек-ниндзя до Юрия Гагарина. И, хотя золотой век печатных комиксов позади, трудно представить себе день, когда интернет не предложит заботливо ссылку с «Тайной жизнью девушек» или «До и после появления в доме кота», под которой уже стоит несколько тысяч лайков. Можно сказать, что жанр истории в рисунках обрёл цифровое бессмертие. А давно ли они стали смешными?

Одним из первых «веселые картинки» в привычном нам виде начал рисовать Рудольф Тепфер. Преподавая в частной школе в 1830-е, он развлекал своих учеников и знакомых карикатурами, которые позже были опубликованы и переиздаются до сих пор. Помимо прочего, Рудольф известен своим замечанием, что дети в изобразительном искусстве часто бывают выразительнее и ярче профессиональных художников, чьи творческие силы контролируются изученными ими способами и выражения. Довольно интересная позиция для не самого благосклонного к женщинам и детям исторического периода.

 

Основоположником европейского комикса также считают Вильгельма Буша. Буш бодро высмеивал недалеких и религиозных соотечественников, за что какое-то время был запрещён, а после переведен на множество языков и (с его Плихом и Плюхом в переводе Даниила Хармса знакомы, наверное, все советские дети) и превращен в человека-премию (ежегодные десять тысяч евро лучшему острослову) и человека-музей в Ганновере в 1937 году.

 

 

В конце 19 века комикс пришел в Америку и сразу стал любимым жанром популярной прессы . Одним из самых известных художников жанра стал Уинзор Маккей, оказавший влияние на поколения комиксистов. Мастер перспективы, Маккей считался довольно слабым автором диалогов, но зрители любили его картинки, и мы их понимаем. К 20 веку в комиксах вообще осталось мало комического, и серии рисунков гораздо чаще создавались на приключенческую тематику. Интересный для комиксов период пришёлся на годы второй мировой войны: в то время как едва вошедшие в моду супергерои вели борьбу с фашистами в странах гитлеровской коалиции, в Италии издатели обходили запрет на зарубежные комиксы, переименовывая американских героев.

 

С появлением в США Супермена в 1938 году началась эра супергероев, она же – «золотой век комикса», за которым последовали «серебряный», «бронзовый» и современный. Супермэн, Бэтмэн, Капитан Америка – волшебные «дедушки» жанра родом из сороковых. За ними последовали 1960-е с героями Марвел, за фантастическими приключениями которых, теперь уже на экранах, мы следим до сих пор, и 1970-е – бронзовый век комиксов, начавшийся со смертью девушки Человека-Паука в 1973 году. На смену успеху и везению супергероев пришли сомнения и проблемы человека обыкновенного.

 

С середины восьмидесятых годов ведет отсчет современный период в развитии жанра – с мрачняком, антигероями и наступающей мангой, которая появилась в Японии после Второй мировой, но широкой известности за пределами страны не получила. Так что история у серии нарисованных картинок в популярном интернет-посте богатейшая.

Но что же заставляет нас снова и снова обращаться к комиксам, а их авторам – придумывать новых героев, менять законы нарисованного мира и делать их более реалистичными ?

Они поднимают важные проблемы. В какой-то мере супергероем сейчас становится каждый, кто совмещает работу, учебу, спорт, хобби и близкие отношения с особями своего вида. Поэтому суперпипл для большинства менее актуален, чем готичная Неми или кот-философ из книги Олега Ти. Благодаря комиксам мы всегда вовремя увидим смешное в том, что нас удручает или заставляет напрячься в повседневной жизни. Мы бодро хихикаем над интровертами, новоиспеченными родителями, парой со стажем и девушкой с макияжем. Над собой, короче, прямо по Гоголю, но без грусти. И отправляем картинки другим – когда нет средства лучше выразить восторг от предстоящего посещения родственников, например. Можно считать, мы вернулись к тому, с чего всё начиналось: к смешным картинкам на актуальное и злободневное.